Learn more tips »

Green Tip

Unplugging your devices, lowering your heat, and smartly disposing of waste are a few ways to leave for break on sustainable note!



Green Campus Tour

Guided maps of sustainability initiatives at Temple University

Climate Action Plan

Temple became a signatory of the Presidents Climate Commitment in 2008 and again in 2016.

Annual Report

Find out about Temple’s progress toward a more sustainable future by reviewing our Annual Report

Sustainability Advisory Group

In 2008, Temple University signed the American College and University Presidents’ Climate Commitment (ACUPCC), which pledged that the university would become carbon neutral over time, integrate sustainability into the curriculum and other educational experiences for all students, and expand research and community outreach to achieve climate neutrality. This pledge required Temple University to develop a comprehensive, long range Climate Action Plan to articulate how it would fulfill the above goals and in what timeframe. This plan was completed in May 2010.

The Sustainability Advisory Group, consisting of faculty, students and staff, was created to oversee the development of the long range Climate Action Plan and to provide guidance in the implementation of the plan.


Jaclyn Boone, Undergraduate Student, President of SEA (2011-2012)
Michel Boufadel, Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering (2009-2012)
Margaret Carney, University Architect (2011-2012)
Kathryn D’Angelo, Director of Administrative Projects, Office of the Provost (2009-2010)
Amelia Garrett, Undergraduate Student, Fox School of Business, President of SEA (2010-2011)
Sally Harrison, Associate Professor, Architecture, Tyler School of Art (2009-2011)
Kenneth Kaiser, Associate VP Budget & Finance (2099-2012)
Michelle Lai, Assistant Vice President, Campus Development & Capital Planning (2009-2011)
Vicki Lewis McGarvey, Vice Provost University College (2010-2012)
Tom McCreesh, Director, Facilities (2009-2011)
Sandra McDade, Director, Office of Sustainability (2009-2012)
Michael Olszewski, Assistant Professor, School of Environmental Design (2009-2012)
Teresa Scott Soufas, Dean, College of Liberal Arts (2009-2012)
Robert Siegfried, Associate VP Facilities (2009-2012)
Katherine Switala Elmhurst, PhD Student, College of Engineering (2009-2012)
Korin Tangtrakul, Undergraduate Student, College of Liberal Arts and President of SEA (2009-2010)
Gary Witt, Assistant Professor, Statistics, Fox School of Business (2009-2012)